Cherry Be Good

May 11, 2011 § Leave a comment

While perusing the grocery store last night for some essentials, a bag of cherries caught my eye on the way to check out. I was genuinely pleased! It’s nice to see they are coming back in season. I added them to my cart without a second thought. I’ve always liked cherries but have never been this passionate about them until I attended a running nutrition seminar recently where the owner of Foodtrainers listed cherries as one of the suggested foods for runners. They act as an anti-inflammatory and are good for a post run snack.

I packed my meals (breakfast and lunch) for work today which included plenty of servings of fruit and veggies. It makes such a difference and then I don’t crash and burn throughout the day. Yesterday, when I got home from work I was practically eating my dinner standing up before it was even prepared. Plus, it is so much more costly to eat out for my meals. Somehow, within my budget, most of my money still goes toward food. I need to work on downsizing my food expenses.

Some exciting news. I’m signed up to volunteer as a running buddy on June 5 for Girls on the Run. If you aren’t familiar, it’s an organization that promotes an interactive life-skills program that encourages healthy habits and an active lifestyle in 8-13 year old girls.  I’ve done this once before in December so I’m excited to return! It’s nice to be able to inspire someone to lead a healthy lifestyle and keep a positive self-image and it’s an amazing opportunity for girls at this particular age.Girls on the Run 5K December 2010

I also wanted to share a recipe which gets my stamp of approval. While reading SELF Magazine’s May issue, I came across a feature on Gwyneth Paltrow who was promoting her new cookbook. She shared a brownie recipe with natural ingredients and you won’t be overcome by a sugar rush. It’s more of a cake consistency, but that works for me.My lovely brownies just out of the oven.

Although, when it comes to brownies, my taste buds won’t get over the fact that Duncan Hines boxed brownies are the perfect brownie. These are the brownies I grew up eating. I have tried my fair share of recipes over the past few years and I’m still trying to find a perfect vegan recipe that does the trick. Side note: you will begin to notice that I have taken a liking to vegan treats. I prefer to do without milk products when possible.

One last sharing tidbit. Tonight I decided to make salmon for the first time. My Dad passed on his expertise which was to heat a frying pan on medium, drizzle with olive oil and cook the salmon for about 3 minutes on each side. It turned out perfect! I added a side of roasted broccoli (with olive oil and red pepper flakes) and a side of cheddar broccoli rice.

I even have leftovers for tomorrow.

Does anyone have a favorite brownie recipe they wouldn’t mind sharing? 

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Cherry Be Good at The Run to Boston.

meta

