Eating with Emotion

May 12, 2011 § Leave a comment

Today’s workout: Jillian Michaels Ripped in 30

I realized a few months ago that I had gained between 10 -15 pounds. I sort of knew this happened but it creeped up on me. When I was feeling my best, I was eating less and focusing on a mainly vegetarian diet and I also cut out most dairy. An acupuncturist once told me I have an allergy to casein in dairy. I can eat it in moderation but when I eliminate it I notice a considerable difference. I lose all bloat, my headaches cease and I don’t experience seasonal allergies. There is just one problem. I love cheese. I could do without milk and yogurt, but there is just no substitute to a great piece of cheese. I need to learn to manage this relationship with cheese and literally only treat myself once in a while, not every other day.

Beside the factors that I speak about above, I believe the main reason for the weight gain is emotional eating. When I feel levels of stress of anxiety rise or I need comfort, I’m eating and not even realizing the volume of food I’m consuming running around my apartment, at my desk while on deadline, etc. I don’t believe in dieting. I believe in living an overall healthy lifestyle and taking care of oneself. When I think back to my eating habits a few years ago, I’m really proud of how far I’ve come. I eat mainly plant-based now and am aware of ingredients I’m ingesting on a daily basis. Could I do better? Of course. But it’s an exciting learning process.

So, I don’t believe I’m overweight but I would like feel my best, especially when running. I want to feel in shape and comfortable in my own skin. I want to reach my feel great weight! My goal is to feel great inside and out. I’m not far from that goal but would like to have more of a focus. I would like to be mindful of the following:

1. Slow down and chew my food. Sounds silly, but this is true for me.

2. Bring yoga back into my life. It calms me down mentally and keeps my running list of ideas in my head at bay.

3. Attempt to eat sitting down at all times while in a relaxed, not panicked state.

4. Be aware of what nutrients are entering my body.

I like tweaking my daily routine with small changes. I truly enjoy balance in life and I will never give up being passionate about good food or wine and beer for that matter.

On another note, since I was speaking of cutting out cheese above, Alicia Silverstone shares a great recipe in her cookbook The Kind Diet which I own. It’s a very enjoyable radicchio pizza, sans dairy!

My version turned out quite picturesque!

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Eating with Emotion at The Run to Boston.

meta

