Healthy Kidney 10K Race Recap

May 14, 2011 § Leave a comment

Today’s Workout: Healthy Kidney 10K Race plus 2 miles

I woke up this morning and wasn’t too tired which surprised me. I was out later than I wanted to be last night and I biked to and from the East Village. Extra biking the day before a race is not the smartest idea. At any rate, my legs did feel a little sore this morning, also due to the fact I did my Jillian Michaels Ripped in 30 DVD yesterday. Once I was out the door running over to the race, my legs felt fine. It was nice to have a mile warmup. The race was packed today. Lots of buzz happening in Central Park.

I listened to music during this race. Sometimes I do and other times I do without. I didn’t have an exact goal in mind although I wanted to keep it close to a 9 minute mile. I ended up averaging out at a 9:22 minute mile pace. This was faster than my previous 10K which was a 9:33 minute mile. Every little improvement counts, right? I felt strong throughout the race and managed the hilly course quite well. I gave the race all I got. I try not to get discouraged at that fact that I was running a much faster pace two years ago. Then I slacked and let it slide. I keep wondering how fast I could have been by now if I kept the momentum going. BUT, again, life gets in the way and things happen. I still accomplish so much and I’m happy to have taken on this healthy lifestyle. So much better than when I wasn’t running at all! I must not compare to the past and instead continue to live in the present moment.

I feel stronger coming out of this race as well as a little faster and lighter than I felt a few weeks ago. It’s always great crossing the finish line of a race and feeling that sense of accomplishment for yourself. It makes for a good day.

My next race isn’t until June 4, waah. I’m excited for all of the training that will take place between now and then. I plan to PR and look forward to feeling even better than today!

In other news, as I was browsing through some photos, I began laughing at my french bulldog obsession. I love these dogs, apparently…


Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Healthy Kidney 10K Race Recap at The Run to Boston.

meta

