Dear Swimming, Oh How I’ve Missed You

May 29, 2011 § Leave a comment

Today’s Workout: Swam 13 laps in a 25 yard pool, Jillian Michaels DVD

This morning a special breakfast was in order. I whipped up a batch of pancakes using Stonewall Kitchen’s Farmhouse Pancake & Waffle Mix. It didn’t disappoint. I substituted almond milk for regular milk.

While the pancake creation was in process, I also brewed a pot of coffee. It’s one of my favorite things to do on the weekends. I enjoy my morning cup (or two) while getting the day under way.

And…the finished product topped with blueberries, Earth Balance spread and Stonewall Kitchen’s Wild Maine Blueberry Syrup.

After a little more relaxing, I was deciding what cross-training activity I wanted to conquer today. Swimming kept coming to mind. I haven’t swam in ages since I gave up my gym membership at Equinox last year. I adore swimming and even swam on a team when I was younger. I’ve been researching pools deciding what would work best for me. Asphalt Green and the 92nd Street Y were contenders. Rejoining Equinox won in the end. After reviewing many pros and cons, this was the best choice for me. Do I have a little buyers remorse? Maybe, due to the fact that I have been overspending these past few months but it’s nothing that cannot be balanced. I am taking away a few expenses from my budget in order for this expense to fit.

As soon as I decided to join, I was in my suit and ready to hit the water. It was a very short swim today as I want to start out nice and easy and build up my swim endurance.

Here is a photo of me from my first sprint triathlon in August 2009. I was in great shape at this point in my life. I look forward to getting back to this “feel great” weight.

I enjoyed the steam room after my swim. I also decided to step on the scale while there. I rarely step on a scale anymore at all. I don’t necessarily feel that people should obsess over numbers. It’s more about an overall healthy lifestyle and how you feel in your own skin, in my opinion. BUT, when I stepped on the scale today I was actually shocked. I know I have gained some weight over the past year but in my mind I was losing some of it these past few weeks. This is not what the scale read. Somewhere along the line I’ve gained over 15 lbs. Why I’m expressing this on the blog I’m not quite sure. I know I’m feeling a little uncomfortable and I know how I want to feel and visualize myself obtaining my goals. So, I’m not going to cry over a number on the scale. I still look in the mirror and love the person I am and I think I look good, but I know I will get to a place where I feel 100% happy inside and out. Well, maybe 98% happy as life isn’t perfect.

I hope everyone is enjoying the long weekend!

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Dear Swimming, Oh How I’ve Missed You at The Run to Boston.

meta

