A Beautiful Day for a Race

June 4, 2011 § 2 Comments

Today’s Workout: 5K race

This morning began with me racing the Central Park Challenge to raise money for the YAI Network who provides opportunities for people with developmental and learning disabilities and their families. This was my first race in Central Park which wasn’t run by New York Road Runners. My official time will not be posted on the website until tomorrow but my watch tells me my average pace was 8:36. I’m very happy with this result as my last 5K, which was in March, had me averaging at a 9:06 pace.

The race itself was a lot of fun. All of the volunteers on the sidelines were very enthusiastic and there was free coffee available. Now, I’m one who always gets excited about freebies, but when I spotted the Chock full o’ Nuts truck after the race I promptly went to stand in line.

Shortly after browsing the race festivities I headed home to prepare for my afternoon. First on the agenda was breakfast. I had an apple and made myself an egg sandwich. It was delicious and I was pleasantly surprised. I’m finding that I’m in love with Thomas’ Everything Bagel Thins. I toasted it lightly, added Earth Balance spread and two perfectly fluffy eggs. I believe the key to my eggs this time was that I allowed the pan to heat enough before adding the eggs and I allowed the eggs to cook enough before flipping them. Note to self for future egg breakfasts. I’m thinking tomorrow?

I was headed to the park with friends this afternoon and promised to bring along homemade pasta salad.

Whole wheat pasta, sautéed zucchini and mushrooms, tomato, feta cheese, spinach and organic balsamic vinaigrette.

When I arrived back home this evening, I was pleasantly surprised to find a Carrots ‘N’ Cake bumper sticker waiting for me in the mail. Tina is inspiring and one of my all-time favorite bloggers.

Also in the mail were two of my favorite magazines, Glamour and Runner’s World. I look forward to diving in to both of these tomorrow.

I’m pretty tired and it’s getting late (for me but not for Saturday night.) Good night!

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to A Beautiful Day for a Race

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Beautiful Day for a Race at The Run to Boston.

meta

