“Running Buddy” Is A Proud Title

June 5, 2011 § Leave a comment

Today’s Workout: 6 mile run

This morning began bright and early. I was scheduled to be at Asphalt Green to assist as a “running buddy” for the Girls on the Run 5K. This is the second time I’ve volunteered for this particular assignment, the first being the December 2010 5K.

GOTR Manhattan is an interactive life-skills program that uses the power of running to change the way girls see themselves and their opportunities! Our innovative health education and wellness program uniquely combines training for a 3.1 mile run/walk event with life-changing, self esteem enhancing lessons that encourage healthy habits and an active lifestyle in 8-13 year old girls. Girls learn to stretch themselves – physically, mentally, socially, and emotionally – and in the process, are inspired to a lifetime of self respect and healthy living!

I really enjoy volunteering for this particular organization as it combines one of my favorite passions (running) with helping young girls lead a healthy lifestyle at an early age. I think it’s truly important and I’m behind it 100 percent.

The girls were inspiring and full of positive energy and hope this morning. From what I was able to observe, they all gave it their best. Afterward many of them had “runner’s high” and were celebrating their accomplishments of the day.

I ran extra mileage to and from my volunteer duties making my mileage for the day 6 miles in total.

On another note, I seem to have very sore shins. I’m thinking it is from my race yesterday as I was running extremely hard and possibly my legs aren’t quite used to it. I’ve been resting my legs and icing them as well. Tomorrow will be a rest day for me and I have plans for multiple swim sessions this week.

In other news, I signed up for a new race today. The Rock N Roll Las Vegas Marathon.header_logo_tag2

It looks like it will be a group running trip with a bunch of  my close running companions I adore so I’m already looking forward to the adventures that will ensue!

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading “Running Buddy” Is A Proud Title at The Run to Boston.

meta

