Book Club Happiness

June 7, 2011 § Leave a comment

Today’s Workout: Core Upper Cuts class at Equinox

Yesterday I decided to take a rest day as my shins and hips were hurting. I ran hard at Saturday’s race and was feeling the aftermath these past few days. I’m happy to report I’m feeling much better today. I took my second ever Core Upper Cuts class at Equinox. I decided to go with 5lb and 8lb weights today as opposed to the 3lb and 5lb weights I used last time. I didn’t feel that I exerted myself last week so I wanted to be sure I did so today. I definitely felt a difference and today was quite a challenge for me.

Last night after work I attended my monthly book club meeting. It’s so nice to meet with this particular group of girls on a regular basis. The conversation and wine flowed. Dinner was amazing. Our friend Barbara hosted this month. She lives on the Upper East Side and her apartment is laid out so well. The decor has so much personality. For instance, framed record covers hang in her dining room as artwork. Nothing is generic about this place. You may have just heard me mention the words dining room . Yes, why yes I did. It’s rare that you dine in an actual dining room in the city (well, at least I haven’t recently) and it was lovely and cozy. Loads of girl talk happened around the table.

The menu consisted of copious amounts of wine, sushi, poached salmon, avocado and mango salad, roasted potatoes, and strawberry and blueberry shortcake with homemade whipped cream. There may or may not have been little blue cupcakes for the hostess in honor of her upcoming baby on board.

In other news, I’ve changed my training plan for the upcoming Steamtown Marathon in October. I’ll now follow the plan outlined in 4 Months to a 4-Hour Marathon.

Official training begins on Monday, June 13th. I thought about my goal of qualifying for Boston and would like to obtain this realistically. After careful consideration, I feel it is still quite a feat for me to break four hours when running a marathon. If I follow this plan, it has me on target for for a 3:56:00. After I obtain this goal in the fall, I can schedule a spring marathon in which I will then train for a 3:40:00. Makes more sense to me. So there you have it.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Book Club Happiness at The Run to Boston.

meta

